facebook
annuler
s'inscrire
Nous utilisons des cookies pour nous aider à fournir nos services en ligne. En utilisant notre site Web ou en fermant cette boîte de message, vous acceptez notre utilisation des cookies comme décrit dans notre Politique de cookie.
utilisation

Choses à faire à Byblos

Meilleures attractions à visiter à Byblos

1. Site archéologique de Byblos - Byblos

Site archeologique de Byblos

Les choses à faire dans le site archéologique de Byblos et à voir est une tournée historique qui ne manquera pas. Le château des Croisés est situé juste à l'entrée et ajoute une touche appropriée au site archéologique qui présente des ruines grecques, romaines et néolithiques. Le théâtre romain n'a que cinq niveaux restants, a été construit vers 218 après J.-C. Il a été retiré de son site d'origine entre la porte de la ville et les deux temples superposés, jusqu'à son emplacement actuel. Les tombes royales remontent aux dates des nécropole; 2ème millénaire av. J.-C. et contient des tombes souterraines des rois Byblos. Le plus important est celui du roi Ahiram, dont le sarcophage porte l'une des premières écritures de l'alphabet phénicien. Les remparts et les murs de la ville de Glacis du 3ème et 2ème millénaire en Colombie-Britannique sont situés à l'intérieur du mur moderne à côté de l'entrée du château, ces structures montrent des étapes successives de la construction et de la restauration. Les restes du temple de Baalat Gebal (2700 av. J.-C.), dédié à la Dame de Byblos, la déesse qui devait présider la ville pendant plus de deux millénaires. La zone qui a été autrefois le printemps appelée "Ayn el-Malik" peut être vue dans une grande citerne construite en pierre irrégulière. C'était la principale source d'eau pour Byblos. Le L Temple dérive de sa forme. Il a été érigé au 3ème millénaire av. J.-C. et a été consacré à la divinité. Quant au Temple des Obélisques qui a été construit à l'origine sur le "Temple en L", il a été déplacé par les archéologues pour mener les fouilles.
Translate

plus

2. Château Croisé Byblos - Byblos

Chateau Croise Byblos

Le Château Croisé à Byblos est une structure solide entourée d'un fossé large et sec s'étendant sur 10 mètres. Ceci est situé juste à l'entrée et ajoute une touche appropriée au site archéologique qui comporte des ruines grecques, romaines et néolithiques. Le château offre une vue panoramique sur les vastes ruines avec le port si vous grimpez sur les tours et toits crénelés. Il y a aussi une tour centrale fortifiée où vous pouvez vraiment apprécier la majesté de votre entourage avec un petit musée situé dans les limites du château. Des panneaux d'information décrivant l'histoire du château sont également présents qui peuvent offrir un contexte à votre expérience. Une fois que vous avez fini d'explorer le château, vous pouvez revenir à l'entrée et tourner à gauche pour regarder de plus près les ruines. Ceux-ci comprennent des remparts de la vieille ville qui remontent au 3ème millénaire av. J.-C., quelques temples, un théâtre romain qui donne sur la mer avec plusieurs sculptures. Ce qui est intéressant, c'est que toute la disposition du château n'était pas basée sur la grille typique privilégiée par les Romains. Il a été adapté aux monuments existants sur le site.

plus

3. Remparts médiévaux - Byblos

Remparts medievaux

Les remparts, les glaciers et les murs de la ville du 3ème et 2ème millénaire BC situés à l'intérieur du mur moderne sur le côté droit de l'entrée du château, ces structures présentent des étapes successives de la construction et de la restauration de ces remparts Mediaval. Le mur indenté appartient aux fortifications du 3ème millénaire, tandis que les pentes en terrasses ou glacis sont constitués de grands blocs qui remontent à la période Hyksos (1725 - 1580 avant JC).

plus

4. Byblos, la ville - Byblos

Byblos la ville

Byblos, la ville Jbeil est née pendant l'âge néolithique lorsqu'une petite communauté de pêcheur s'est installée le long de la côte et a construit des cabanes monocellulaires. Vers 3000 av. J.-C., le petit village s'est développé et a prospéré grâce aux relations commerciales avec l'Égypte. Les habitants ont exporté du bois des montagnes, utilisé par les Pharaons pour la construction navale. Ils ont importé de l'or, de l'albâtre, des papyrus et du lin, renforçant ainsi les liens culturels entre la ville et la patrie des Pharaos.

plus

5. Le Marché De Byblos - Byblos

Le Marche De Byblos

Le marché se développe en dehors de l'entité médiévale. Jusqu'à aujourd'hui, peu d'artisans conservent encore certaines traditions. Mais on peut trouver aujourd'hui des magasins d'antiquités et d'autres entreprises.

plus

6. Port Byblos - Byblos

Port Byblos

Le port de Byblos est un port de décennies dans la ville de Byblos du Liban et est réellement considéré comme l'un des plus anciens du pays à ce jour. En 3000BC, il a été considéré comme l'emplacement de livraison principal pour le bois au Moyen-Orient et a été utilisé régulièrement par les Phéniciens pour transporter du vin, les cèdres célèbres du pays et d'autres objets aux Pharaons en Egypte pour leurs tombeaux et leurs navires. La ville elle-même abrite un certain nombre de cultures et de civilisations qui ont été introduites au Liban au cours des années et sont construites sur un certain nombre de ruines anciennes qui remontent à l'âge de pierre. Donc, si vous visitez Byblos, vous ne visiterez pas seulement une ville portuaire, mais une ville imprégnée d'histoire qui a été étroitement liée à la Méditerranée pendant des décennies. Le port abrite plusieurs restaurants balnéaires qui servent principalement des fruits de mer frais et offrent une vue imprenable sur l'océan jusqu'à l'oeil. Le souk qui se trouve à Jbeil dispose également de plusieurs petits cafés connus pour leur atmosphère romantique. Donc, si vous êtes à Byblos, assurez-vous de visiter le port si vous êtes dans l'ambiance de fruits de mer frais de la mer.

plus

7. Cathédrale Saint-Jean Marc - Byblos

Cathedrale Saint Jean Marc

La cathédrale de Saint-Jean-Marc est située à l'extérieur du site archéologique de Byblos, les Croisés ont construit au début du 13ème siècle, en ligne avec le style romain simple. Détruit par un tremblement de terre, sa façade sud a été reconstruite. Pendant la domination ottomane, la cathédrale de St John Marc a été utilisée comme une écurie. En 1764, les maronites prenaient la cathédrale. Le baptistère extérieur a la forme du carré, avec la décoration byzantine et italienne. Le clocher est récent, car l'original a été détruit par le tremblement de terre. Les mosaïques de l'ancienne cathédrale byzantine tombent désormais en négligence.

plus

8. Festival Byblos - Byblos

Festival Byblos

The Byblos Festival is an international festival which is a picture of Lebanese celebration held in Byblos, accepted to be the primary Phoenician city, established around 5000 BC. The celebration is the greatest in Lebanon, and pulls in a great many sightseers from everywhere throughout the world. The International Festival has been held yearly since 2003, in July. It happens next to the shoreline before the manor worked by Crusaders in the twelfth century. The celebration's points are to lift tourism, advance the Lebanese culture, and spread music and craftsmanship from the Middle East to whatever is left of the world.

plus

9. Monastère Saint-Maroun Annaya - Saint-Charbel - Byblos

Monastere Saint Maroun Annaya Saint Charbel

Le monastère de Saint-Maroun a une atmosphère magique et pieuse qui est un peu plus inhabituelle. En fait, l'une des choses les plus sereines à faire dans le monastère de St. Maroun Annaya est de se promener avec des prières et d'une manière ou d'une autre dans des endroits aléatoires, la présence de Saint Charbel vous fera savoir! Charbel était un nom qu'il choisit après être devenu un moine chrétien et rejoindre le Corps de l'Ordre Maronite Libanais dans le monastère de Saint-Maroun-Annaya en 1851. Il s'appelait Youssef Antoun Makhlouf né le 8 mai 1828. Il était et est encore Célèbre pour ses miracles, il est un guérisseur, un saint et une porte spirituelle vers la source divine. Si vous cherchez à libérer votre esprit et votre âme, une visite au monastère de Saint-Maroun est un must.

plus

10. Ehmej Cèdres et lacs - Byblos vue 360

visite virtuelle 360
Ehmej Cedres et lacs

Ehmej est un village avec une petite population célèbre pour ses forêts profondes et son tourisme environnemental. Des sites de camping à couper le souffle à la randonnée, à l'escalade et à toutes sortes de jeux de plein air, de sports et de divertissements au parc Arz Ehmej. Les choses à faire à Ehmej sont tout à propos des loisirs en plein air et de la connexion avec la nature et la Terre Mère.

plus

Destinations similaires à visiter

Que faire a Beyrouth

Que faire à Beyrouth

Beyrouth, la capitale du Liban, est bien connue sous le nom de « Paris du Moyen-Orient ». C'est le centre commercial, culturel et touristique du pays. La vie nocturne animée de la ville et son riche héritage historique en font l'une des destinations touristiques les plus importantes du pays. Des sites ...

Choses a faire a Anjar

Choses à faire à Anjar

Anjar est une ville située au Liban dans la vallée de la Bekaa et est également connu sous le nom de Haoush Mousa peuplé en majorité par les Arméniens. L'emplacement s'étend sur 20 miles carrés de terres fertiles qui est rempli de touristes et d'arméniens qui visitent la ville annuellement. Le nom ...

Choses a faire a Baalbeck

Choses à faire a Baalbeck

Baalbeck est une ville historique située à l'est de la rivière Litani dans la vallée du Beqaa au Liban. La ville qui a été connue comme Helipolis à l'époque ancienne a été désignée comme un site du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO. La région contient beaucoup de bâtiments historiques ont été ...

Chose a faire a Batroun

Chose à faire à Batroun

Batroun est une ville située dans la partie nord du Liban. Considérée comme l'une des plus anciennes villes habitées continuellement dans le monde, c'est une destination touristique importante au Liban. Les visiteurs peuvent trouver beaucoup de choses à faire à Batroun. La région est définie par de ...

cancel
register
We use cookies to help us deliver our online services. By using our website or by closing this message box, you agree to our use of cookies as described in our Cookie policy.
use

Things to do in Byblos

Best attractions to visit in Byblos

1. Byblos Archaeological Site - Byblos

Byblos Archaeological Site

The things to do in Byblos Archaeological Site and to see is a historical tour that shoud not be missed. The Crusader Castle is located just within the entrance and adds a fitting touch to the archaelogical site which features Greek, Roman and Neolithic ruins. The Roman Theater has only five tiers remaining ,was built about 218 A.D. It was removed from its original site between the City gate and the two superimposed temples, to its present location. The Royal tombs go back to the necropolis dates; 2nd millennium B.C. and contains underground tombs of the Byblos kings. The most important is that of king Ahiram, whose sarcophagus bears one of the earliest inscription of the Phoenician alphabet. The Ramparts and Glacis city walls of 3rd and 2nd millennia B.C. are located inside the modern wall next to the castle entrance, those structure show successive stages of the construction and restoration. The Remains of the temple of Baalat Gebal ( 2700 B.C ), dedicated to the Lady of Byblos , the goddess who was to preside over the city for over two millennia. The area that was once the spring called " Ayn el-Malik " can be seen in a large cistern constructed of irregular stone. This was the main source of water for Byblos. The L Temple is derived from its shape. It was erected in the 3rd millennium B.C and was dedicated to a divinity. As for The Temple of the Obelisks which was originally built on top of the "Temple en L" was moved by archaeologists to conduct the excavations .

more

2. Crusader Castle Byblos - Byblos

Crusader Castle Byblos

The Crusader Castle in Byblos is a solid structure that is surrounded by a wide and dry moat spanning 10 meters. This is located just within the entrance and adds a fitting touch to the archeological site which features Greek, Roman and Neolithic ruins. The castle offers a panoramic view over the vast ruins along with the harbor if you climb to the crenellated towers and roofs. There is also a fortified central tower where you can truly appreciate the majesty of your surroundings along with a small museum which is located within the castle confines. Information panels outlining the castle’s history are also present which can offer context to your experience. Once you finish exploring the castle, you can turn back to the entrance and turn left to take a closer look at the ruins. These include some old city ramparts that date back to the 3rd millennium BC, a couple of temples, a Roman theatre that looks out over the sea along with several sculptures. The interesting thing is that the entire layout of the castle was not based on the typical grid favored by the Romans. It was adapted to suit existing monuments on the site.

more

3. Mediaeval Ramparts - Byblos

Mediaeval Ramparts

Ramparts, glacis and city walls of the 3rd and 2nd millennia B.C. located inside the modern wall on the right side of the Castle entrance,those structures show successive stages of the construction and restoration of these Mediaval ramparts. the indented wall belongs to the fortifications of the 3rd millennium, while the terraced slopes or glacis are made of large blocks that go back to the Hyksos period (1725 - 1580 B.C..

more

4. Byblos, the town - Byblos

Byblos the town

Byblos is one of oldest cities in the worlds. Since its creation more than 7000 years ago, during the Neolithic Age, it has constantly been inhabited. Byblos "City of Letters" is a living museum of human history, providing a reference for all literary works. Jbeil means "pottery" in Phoenician. It could also derive from the contraction of two words : "Jeb" meaning "well" or "spring", the God "El", father of the adored triad of Phenico- Cananeens. Only Foreigners and particularry Greeks used the name "Byblos". And because it is the city of the book, its name also derives from the "Bible". Jbeil was born during the Neolithic Age when a small fishing community settled along the coast and built monocellular huts. About 3000 B.C., the small village developed and prospered thanks to trade relations with Egypt. The habitants exported wood from the mountains, which was used by the Pharaohs for shipbuilding. They imported gold, alabaster, papyrus rope and linen, thus strengthening cultural links between the city and the Pharaos homeland.

more

5. The Souk - Byblos

The Souk

The souk is developed outside the medieval entity. Until nowadays, few craftsmen still preserve some traditions. But, one can find today antiquities stores and other businesses.

more

6. Byblos Port - Byblos

Byblos Port

Byblos port is a decades old port in Lebanon’s Byblos city and is actually considered to one of the oldest in the country to date. In 3000BC, it was considered to be the main shipping location for timber in Middle East and was regularly used by the Phoenicians to transport wine, the famous cedars of the country and other items to Pharaohs in Egypt for their tombs and ships. The city itself is home to a number of cultures and civilizations that were introduced in Lebanon over the years and is constructed over a number of ancient ruins that date back to as far back as the Stone Age. So if you visit Byblos, you won’t be just visiting a port city, but a city steeped in history that has been tied closely with the Mediterranean for decades. The port is home to several seaside restaurants that serve mostly fresh seafood and offer unimpeded views of the ocean as far as the eye can see. The souk which is situated in Jbeil also features several small cafes that are known for their romantic atmosphere. So if you are in Byblos, make sure you visit the port if you are in the mood for sea food fresh from the sea.

more

7. Cathedral of St John Marc - Byblos

Cathedral of St John Marc

The Cathedral of St John Marc is located outside the Byblos archaeological site, the Crusaders built it in the beginning of the 13th century, in line with the simple Roman style. Destroyed by an earthquake, its southern facade was rebuilt. During the Ottoman rule, the Cathedral of St John Marc was used as a stable. In 1764, the Maronites took the Cathedral. The external baptistery has the shape of square, with Byzantine and Italian decoration. The bell tower is recent, for the original one was destroyed by the earthquake. Mosaics of the ancient Byzantine Cathedral now fall in neglect.

more

8. Byblos festival - Byblos

Byblos festival

The Byblos Festival is an international festival which is a picture of Lebanese celebration held in Byblos, accepted to be the primary Phoenician city, established around 5000 BC. The celebration is the greatest in Lebanon, and pulls in a great many sightseers from everywhere throughout the world. The International Festival has been held yearly since 2003, in July. It happens next to the shoreline before the manor worked by Crusaders in the twelfth century. The celebration's points are to lift tourism, advance the Lebanese culture, and spread music and craftsmanship from the Middle East to whatever is left of the world.

more

9. St\. Maroun Annaya Monastery \- St\. Charbel - Byblos

St Maroun Annaya Monastery St Charbel

Saint Maroun’s Monastery has a magical and a pious atmosphere that is a bit more unusual. Actually one of the most serene things to do in St. Maroun Annaya Monastery is to wander around with prayers and somehow in random places, Saint Charbel’s presence will let you know! Charbel was a name he chose after becoming a Christian monk and joining the Corps of the Lebanese Maronite Order in St. Maroun’s monastery-Annaya in the year 1851. His name was Youssef Antoun Makhlouf born on May the 8th 1828. He was and still is famous for his miracles, he is a healer, a saint and a spiritual gateway to the divine source. If you are looking to free your mind and soul, a visit to Saint Maroun’s Monastery is a must.

more

10. Ehmej Cedars and Lakes - Byblos view 360

360 virtual tour
Ehmej Cedars and Lakes

Ehmej is a village with a small population famous for its deep forests and environmental tourism. From breath taking camping sites to hiking, climbing and all kinds of outdoor games, sports and entertainment activities at the Park Arz Ehmej. Things to do in Ehmej are all about outdoor recreation and connecting with nature and mother earth.

more

Similar destinations to visit

Things to do in Beirut

Things to do in Beirut

Beirut, the capital city of Lebanon, is aptly known as the 'the Paris of the Middle East'. It is the commercial, cultural, and tourist center of the country. The city's vibrant nightlife and rich historical legacy make it one of the topmost tourist destinations in the country. From ancient sites to ...

Things to do in Anjar

Things to do in Anjar

Anjar is a town located in Lebanon in the Bekaa Valley and is also kown as Haoush Mousa populated mostly by Armenians. The location spans across 20 square miles of fertile land which is filled with tourists along with expat Armenians who visit the town on a yearly basis. The name itself means ‘running ...

Things to do in Baalbeck

Things to do in Baalbeck

Baalbeck is a historical town located east of the Litani River in the Beqaa Valley of Lebanon. The town that was known as Helipolis during ancient times has been designated as a UNESCO World Heritage site. The area contains a lot of historical buildings were built by the Phoenicians, the Romans, and other ...

Things to do in Batroun

Things to do in Batroun

Batroun is a city situated in the northern part of Lebanon. Considered one of the oldest continuously inhabited cities in the world, it is a major tourist destination in Lebanon. Visitors can find many things to do in Batroun. The area is defined by beautiful beaches, historical sites, delicious eateries, ...