facebook
annuler
s'inscrire
Nous utilisons des cookies pour nous aider à fournir nos services en ligne. En utilisant notre site Web ou en fermant cette boîte de message, vous acceptez notre utilisation des cookies comme décrit dans notre Politique de cookie.
utilisation

Meilleures attractions à visiter à Madrid

1. Palais Royal de Madrid - Madrid

Palais Royal de Madrid

Le Palais Royal de Madrid, également connu sous le nom de Palacio Real de Madrid, est la résidence officielle de la famille royale. Cependant, le palais n'est utilisé que pour les cérémonies d'état. Le palais a été construit au 16ème siècle. La place telle qu'elle existe aujourd'hui a été conçue par l'architecte Enrique María Repullés, la fondation établie en 1892. Surplombant une superficie de 1,4 million de pieds carrés, le Palais royal est le plus grand palais royal d'Europe par la zone contenant 3,418 chambres, Qui gagne une place sur notre liste de choses à faire à Madrid. Les visiteurs sont émerveillés par la variété des pièces d'art et de décoration dans le palais. Le palais contient des tableaux de divers artistes bien connus, dont Velázquez, Caravaggio et Francisco de Goya. Il y a aussi une vaste collection de fresques réalisées par des artistes tels que Juan de Flandes, Corrado Giaquinto, Anton Raphael Mengs et Giovanni Battista Tiepolo. Il existe diverses autres collections d'importance historique, y compris la porcelaine, l'argenterie, les montres, les meubles et le seul quintette de cordes du monde connu sous le nom de Stradivarius. Un guide audio est disponible qui fournit un fond historique de diverses pièces dans le palais. Sabtani Garden est situé au nord du palais qui s'étend jusqu'à la cuesta de San Vicente et la calle de Bailén. Il vaut bien une visite en Espagne.

plus

2. Palais de Cristal - Madrid

Palais de Cristal

Conçu par le célèbre architecte Ricardo Velazquez, le Palacio de Cristal est un magnifique palais en verre inspiré du Crystal Palace à Londres. Ce palais a été construit en 1887 dans le centre de Madrid, 36 ans après la construction du London Crystal Palace. Le Palacio de Cristal est situé dans le centre du parc populaire de la ville, Buen Retiro. La conception complexe et la vitre reflètent un travail de qualité qui continue d'attirer des touristes du monde entier. Ce palais ressemble à la forme d'une croix grecque. Il est entièrement en verre dans une structure en fer sur une base de brique qui est complétée par des céramiques décoratives. Le palais dispose d'un toit en forme de dôme de 22 mètres de haut. Devant ce magnifique palais se trouve un immense lac artificiel avec des oies, des canards, des terrasses et des cygnes noirs. C'est un beau monument architectural qui est souvent utilisé comme lieu d'exposition d'œuvres d'art et d'expositions organisées dans la ville. Bien qu'il ne soit pas ouvert au public, néanmoins, les touristes viennent encore visiter ce palais pour voir l'éclat architectural et l'artisanat de Ricardo Velazquez. Les touristes viennent ici pour passer un moment de détente dans le parc Buen Retiro tout en appréciant cette merveille historique qui est vraiment unique en Espagne.

plus

3. Westin Palace - Madrid

Westin Palace

Le Westin Palace à Madrid est un hôtel de luxe situé sur la Carrera de San Jerónimo à Cetnro à Madrid, en Espagne. Connu pour son hospitalité somptueuse depuis 1912, l'hôtel emblématique est situé dans la partie centrale de la ville, à quelques pas des principales attractions touristiques de la ville, y compris les musées Thyssen, Prado et Reina Sofia. L'hôtel Westin Palace a été construit sur une période d'une année et demi et a été ouvert au public en 1912. C'était le plus grand hôtel d'Europe à l'époque - l'un des rares du continent qui offrait des luxes comme l'interphone, les toilettes, Et téléphone dans chaque chambre. Le sous-sol de l'hôtel contenait des options de divertissement des visiteurs, y compris la salle de danse 'the del Palace', un salon de jazz et un bar. En 1999, le gouvernement espagnol a désigné cet hôtel comme l'héritage culturel du pays. Aujourd'hui, l'hôtel 5 étoiles fait partie de Starwood Hotels and Resorts Worldwide. Les clients peuvent profiter du petit-déjeuner / dîner dans l'un des plus beaux atrium de l'hôtel. Chaque chambre est somptueusement meublée pour le confort des invités. De plus, en raison de son emplacement dans le quartier de Las Letras, les invités peuvent trouver diverses options de loisirs, d'achats et gastronomiques situées à proximité.

plus

4. Place d'Espagne - Madrid

Place d Espagne

Situé à l'ouest de la Gran Via, dans le centre de Madrid, la Plaza de España, également connue sous le nom de Place d'Espagne, est une destination populaire parmi les touristes pour le tourisme. La place dispose d'un superbe monument de Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra, célèbre et célèbre poète, dramaturge et romancier connu pour ses œuvres comme Don Quichotte. Pour cette raison, les touristes du monde entier, qui sont également les fans de Miguel de Cervante, s'assurent qu'ils s'arrêtent, à la Plaza de España pour voir le monument de leur poète et romancier espagnol préféré. Ce monument a été construit en cinq ans entre 1925 et 1930. Le Plaza est situé au milieu de deux des gratte-ciel les plus célèbres et les plus importants de Madrid. L'une est la tour de Madrid qui a été construite en 1950 et est le plus grand gratte-ciel de la ville. Le deuxième gratte-ciel situé près de la Plaza de España est le bâtiment España. Palacio Real, le Palais Royal est également situé à quelques pâtés de maisons. Pour rejoindre la Plaza de España, utilisez le métro Lignes 3 à 10. C'est un endroit idéal et l'une des choses à faire à Madrid.

plus

5. Plaza Mayor de Madrid - Madrid

Plaza Mayor de Madrid

Situé à l'ouest de la Gran Via, dans le centre de Madrid, la Plaza de España, également connue sous le nom de Place d'Espagne, est une destination populaire parmi les touristes pour le tourisme. La place dispose d'un superbe monument de Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra, célèbre et célèbre poète, dramaturge et romancier connu pour ses œuvres comme Don Quichotte. Pour cette raison, les touristes du monde entier, qui sont également les fans de Miguel de Cervante, s'assurent qu'ils s'arrêtent, à la Plaza de España pour voir le monument de leur poète et romancier espagnol préféré. Ce monument a été construit en cinq ans entre 1925 et 1930. Le Plaza est situé au milieu de deux des gratte-ciel les plus célèbres et les plus importants de Madrid. L'une est la tour de Madrid qui a été construite en 1950 et est le plus grand gratte-ciel de la ville. Le deuxième gratte-ciel situé près de la Plaza de España est le bâtiment España. Palacio Real, le Palais Royal est également situé à quelques pâtés de maisons. Pour rejoindre la Plaza de España, utilisez le métro Lignes 3 à 10. C'est un endroit idéal et l'une des choses à faire à Madrid.

plus

6. Place de Cybèle - Madrid

Place de Cybele

Doté d'un style néoclassique de superbes structures en marbre accentuées par une belle fondation, la Plaza de Cibeles est devenue l'icône de la ville. Il est situé dans le centre de Madrid. La fondation s'appelle la dieu grecque de la fertilité, Cybele. Il comporte Cybele sur un chariot tiré par deux lions tout en tenant un sceptre. Les lions qui tirent le chariot symbolisent la puissance de la déesse. Ce monument a été sculpté en 1782 par Ventura Rodriguez. La place est traversée par 2 routes principales, la route nord se dirige vers Paseo del Prado tandis que la route vers l'ouest se dirige vers Calle de Alcalá. Puisque Plaza de Cibeles est en forme carrée, sur chacun des quatre coins de cette place, vous pouvez trouver un bâtiment historique comme le Palacio de Buenavista qui a été construit en 1777 et qui sert actuellement de siège de l'armée espagnole et du Palacio de Linares appartenant à l'organisation Casa de América. Ce bâtiment a été construit en 1877, et il y a beaucoup de choses à faire à Plaza de Cibeles. Cependant, le plus important de tous les bâtiments situés à la Plaza de Cibeles est le Palais de Cybele qui ressemble à une cathédrale. Il a été construit par Antonio Palacios en 1909 et a été le siège du service postal jusqu'en 2007, date à laquelle il est devenu l'Hôtel de Ville de Madrid. Il est toujours recommandé parmi les nombreuses choses à faire à Madrid.

plus

7. Basilique de Saint-François-le-Grand - Madrid

Basilique de Saint Francois le Grand

La basilique de San Francisco El Grande est également connue sous le nom de Royal Basílica de San Francisco El Grande. C'est une église catholique-catholique à couper le souffle située au cœur de la capitale espagnole, à Madrid. La basilique est conçue dans un style néo-classique conçu par Antonio Plo. Pour la conception de ce chef-d'œuvre architectural, Antonio Plo s'est inspiré d'un design créé par Francisco Cabezas. La façade principale du bâtiment fait face au magnifique San Francisco Plaza. Le sommet du bâtiment comporte un dôme massif qui mesure environ 108 pieds de diamètre et environ 190 pieds de hauteur, plus grand que la cathédrale Saint-Paul située à Londres. La forme du dôme de ce bâtiment est étonnamment plus circulaire par rapport aux dômes normalement construits au XVIIIe siècle. La cathédrale de San Francisco El Grande Basilica contient les plus belles collections d'artistes célèbres / légendaires, dont des chefs-d'œuvre de légendes comme Francisco Goya, Alonso Cano et Zurbarán. Il présente également des sculptures de Mariano Benlliure et Ricardo Bellver. C'est un bel endroit à visiter. Les bâtiments présentent une beauté impeccable et artistique qui continuent à inspirer ceux qui visitent cet endroit. Vous apprécierez vraiment votre visite à la basilique de San Francisco El Grande, surtout si vous aimez l'histoire et appréciez l'art, c'est pourquoi c'est l'une des choses les plus recommandées à Madrid.

plus

8. Cathédrale de l'Almudena de Madrid - Madrid

Cathedrale de l Almudena de Madrid

La cathédrale de l'Almudena est un joyau historique datant de l'année 1883. La pensée de construire cette cathédrale a été conçue en 1561 lorsque le roi Felipe II a déclaré Madrid comme nouvelle capitale de l'Espagne au lieu de Tolède. Le roi voulait une magnifique et magnifique cathédrale pour la nouvelle capitale espagnole qui a conduit à la création de la cathédrale Almudena. Cependant, l'idée a été réalisée en 1883 lorsque les travaux de construction de cette cathédrale ont débuté à plein régime. La construction du projet devait commencer plus tôt, peu de temps après la fin de l'idée. Cependant, en raison de troubles politiques et de turbulences, les travaux de construction ont été reportés. À l'origine, le site où se trouve aujourd'hui cette cathédrale était occupé par la première mosquée de la ville. Le travail architectural de cette spectaculaire cathédrale reflète le style néo-gothique. Il mesure 104 mètres de long et environ 76 mètres de large. La cathédrale de l'Almudena est nichée à côté du magnifique palais royal. La cathédrale présente un intérieur lumineux et une architecture intrinsèquement conçue qui laisse les gens émerveillés. L'entrée de cette cathédrale est gratuite. La cathédrale de l'Almudena possède également un musée qui présente un excellent travail reflétant l'histoire de la cathédrale et l'archidiocèse de la capitale, à Madrid. Le musée est ouvert aux touristes du lundi au samedi mais fermé le dimanche.

plus

9. Temple d'Amon - Madrid

Temple d Amon

Le Temple de Debod est un ancien sanctuaire égyptien qui a été démonté et réassemblé à Madrid, en Espagne en 1968. Le temple a été construit à l'origine au début du IIe siècle avant JC et situé à environ 15 km au sud d'Assouan en Egypte. Il a subi des rénovations sous le règne des empereurs potelmic et romains. L'UNESCO a fait un appel international pour sauver le patrimoine culturel riche d'Egypte en raison de la menace posée par le barrage élevé d'Assouan. L'Espagne a fourni une aide financière et technique gracieuse pour la restauration du temple d'Abu Simbel en Egypte. Comme gratitude pour l'assistance, le gouvernement égyptien a fait don du temple en Espagne. Le temple a été réassemblé au Parque del Oeste situé près du Palais Royal à Madrid. Le temple représente l'un des rares évènements de l'architecture égyptienne ancienne qu'on peut voir en dehors de l'Egypte, et unique en Espagne. L'entrée au temple est gratuite. Il contient deux niveaux et le garde ne permet qu'un petit groupe d'entrer dans le temple en même temps. À l'intérieur du temple, les visiteurs peuvent voir la représentation des divinités égyptiennes et des cérémonies religieuses. Il existe également des modèles qui représentent l'endroit où le temple d'origine était en Egypte.

plus

10. Musée du Prado - Madrid

Musee du Prado

Niché au cœur de Madrid, le Museo Nacional Del Prado est l'un des plus grands musées non seulement en Espagne mais à travers le monde. Construit en 1785 par Juan de Villanueva, ce musée présente quelques-unes des plus belles collections d'art européennes du monde entier, datant du XIIe siècle au début du XIXe siècle. Bien qu'initialement, il a été fondé en tant que musée pour présenter des sculptures et des peintures, il se compose désormais d'autres types de woks précieux tels que les tirages et les dessins. En fait, actuellement, le musée abrite environ 7 600 œuvres d'artistes légendaires, plus de 1000 sculptures, près de 8 200 dessins et 4 800 tirages et un grand nombre de documents historiques. Ici, vous pouvez voir des travaux étonnants de légendes comme Francisco de Goya, Titien, Hieronymus Bosch, El Greco et Diego. Le Museo Nacional Del Prado est le musée le plus visité d'Espagne qui attire des touristes du monde entier. En raison du grand afflux de touristes visitant ce musée chaque année, l'autorité responsable du maintien du musée continue d'investir dans l'expansion de ce bâtiment. En 2007, la surface d'exposition du musée a été augmentée de 50 pour cent. Les extensions du bâtiment ont été conçues par Rafael Moneo, un célèbre architecte espagnol.

plus

Destinations similaires à visiter

Que faire a Bilbao

Que faire à Bilbao

Connu comme le cœur battant du Pays Basque, Bilbao est la ville la plus «cosmopolitaine» du pays. ellle est en constante évolution et maintenant revendique le célèbre Musée Guggenheim qui a été conçu par l'architecte Frank Gehry avec un système de métro magnifique qui transporte les habitants ...

Que faie a Barcelone

Que faie à Barcelone

Entre la mer Méditerranée à une extrémité et la Serra de Collserola montagnes de l'autre et située entre les embouchures des rivières Besos et Llobregat se dresse la ville de Barcelone. C'est la capitale de la communauté autonome de Catalogne en Espagne.

Que faire a Seville

Que faire à Séville

Le seul port fluvial de toute l'Espagne, Séville est la plus grande ville et la capitale de la communauté autonome d'Andalousie. Situé sur la pointe du fleuve Guadalquivir, la ville remonte à l'époque où les Romains régnaient sur la région. La vieille ville de la ville a trois sites du patrimoine ...

Que faire a Malaga

Que faire à Malaga

Planifiez un voyage à l'une des plus anciennes villes du monde à Valence, en Espagne et préparez-vous à etre hypnotisé par le charme de la vieille école de Malaga. Des expositions consacrées aux cristaux et aux voitures classiques et aux oeuvres de Pablo Picasso (qui est né là) la ville est un ...

facebook
cancel
register
We use cookies to help us deliver our online services. By using our website or by closing this message box, you agree to our use of cookies as described in our Cookie policy.
use

Best attractions to visit in Madrid

1. Royal Palace of Madrid - Madrid

Royal Palace of Madrid

The Royal Palace of Madrid, also known as Palacio Real de Madrid, is the official residence of the royal family. However, the palace is only used for state ceremonies. The palace was built during the 16th century. The square as it exists today was designed by architect Enrique María Repullés, the foundation laid out in 1892. Spread over an area of 1.4 million sq. ft., the Royal Palace is the largest royal palace in Europe with 3,418 rooms. Visitors are amazed by the variety of arts and decoration pieces in the palace. The palace contains paintings by various well-known artists including Velázquez, Caravaggio, and Francisco de Goya. There is also an extensive collection of frescoes done by artists such as Juan de Flandes, Corrado Giaquinto, Anton Raphael Mengs, and Giovanni Battista Tiepolo. There are various other collections of historic importance including porcelain, silverware, watches, furniture, and the world's only string quintet known as the Stradivarius. An audio guide is available that provides a historical background of various pieces in the palace. Sabatini Garden is situated north of the Palace that extends to the Cuesta de San Vicente and Calle de Bailén. It is certainly worth a visit while in Spain.

more

2. Palacio de Cristal - Madrid

Palacio de Cristal

Designed by the famous architect Ricardo Velazquez, Palacio de Cristal is a gorgeous glass palace modeled after the Crystal Palace in London. This palace was constructed in 1887 in central Madrid, 36 years after the London Crystal Palace was built. Palacio de Cristal is situated in the center of the city’s popular park, Buen Retiro. The intricate design and glasswork reflects quality workmanship that continues to attract tourists from around the world. This palace resembles the shape of a Greek cross. It is entirely made of glass in an iron-framework on a brick-base which is complemented with decorative ceramics. The palace features a dome shaped roof that is 22 meters high. In front of this beautiful palace is a huge artificial lake with geese, ducks, terrapins and black swans. This is a beautiful architectural monument which is often used as a venue for artwork displays and exhibitions held in the city. Although it is not open for public, nonetheless, tourists still come to visit this palace to view Ricardo Velazquez’s architectural brilliance and craftsmanship. The tourists come here to enjoy a relaxing time in the Buen Retiro Park while appreciating this historic marvel that is truly one of a kind in Spain.

more

3. The Westin Palace - Madrid

The Westin Palace

The Westin Palace is a luxury hotel resort situated on the Carrera de San Jerónimo at Centro in Madrid, Spain. Known for its sumptuous hospitality since 1912, the iconic hotel is located in the central part of the city, within walking distance of the city's major tourist attractions including the Thyssen, Prado, and Reina Sofia museums. The Westin Palace hotel was built over a period of a year and a half and was opened for public in 1912. It was the largest hotel in Europe at the time – one of the few in the continent that offered such luxuries as intercom, toilets, and telephone in every room. The basement of the hotel contained entertainment options of the visitors including the 'the del Palace' dance hall, a jazz lounge, and a bar. In 1999, the Spanish government designated this hotel as a cultural heritage of the country. Today, the 5-star hotel is part of the Starwood Hotels and Resorts Worldwide. Guests can enjoy breakfast/dinner in one of the beautiful atrium of the hotel. Every room is lavishly furnished for the comfort of the guests. In addition, due to its location in the neighborhood of Las Letras, guest can find various leisure, shopping and gastronomic options located nearby.

more

4. Plaza de España - Madrid

Plaza de Espana

Situated on the west of the Gran Via Street in the center of the capital, Plaza de España, also known as the Spain Square, is a popular destination among tourists for sightseeing. The plaza features a stunning monument of Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra who was a very famous and renowned Spanish poet, playwright and novelist known for his works like Don Quixote. For this reason, tourists from around the world, who also happen to be fans of Miguel de Cervantes, make sure that they stop by, at the Plaza de España to view the monument of their favorite Spanish poet and novelist. This monument was built in five years between 1925 and 1930. The Plaza is located in the middle of two of the most famous and prominent skyscrapers. One is the Madrid Tower which was built in the year 1950 and is the tallest skyscraper in the city. The second skyscraper that is located near the Plaza de España is the España Building. Palacio Real, the Royal Palace is also located a few blocks away. To reach the Plaza de España, use the subway Lines 3 to 10. It is a great place and one of the must-visit landmarks in Madrid.

more

5. Plaza Mayor - Madrid

Plaza Mayor

Once in Madrid, make sure that you visit Plaza Mayor. It is a popular place among locals and tourists alike. From the façade of this plaza to the construction work and interior, everything about this plaza is awe-inspiring. Situated in the center of Spain’s capital city, Madrid, the Plaza Mayor is a huge arcaded square boasting a uniform architecture with intricate detailing. This Plaza was constructed during the period of Habsburg and is located near the city’s other famous plaza called the Puerta del Sol. Plaza Mayor measures 129 x 94 meters and is engulfed by 3 buildings having nearly 237 balconies that face the plaza directly. This is a huge plaza that has a total of 9 entrances. This magnificent structure is the work of art of the famous and high-skilled architect, Juan De Villanueva. This plaza also features a stunning bronze statue of King Philip III. It is situated right in the center of the square. This statue was created by Pietro Tacca and Jean Boulogne in the year 1616. The Plaza presents a place for a variety of activities such as football games, Spanish Inquisitions, and bullfights. It also has a ring of traditional cafés and shops and is one of the most popular tourist attractions that the city of Madrid has to offer.

more

6. Plaza de Cibele - Madrid

Plaza de Cibele

Featuring Neo-classical style of stunning marble structures accentuated with a beautiful foundation, the Plaza de Cibeles has become the city’s icon. It is situated in the center of the city. The foundation is named after the Greek goddess of fertility, Cybele. It features Cybele on a chariot being pulled by two lions while holding a scepter. The lions pulling the chariot symbolize the power of the goddess. This monument was sculpted in the year 1782 by Ventura Rodriguez. The plaza is intersected by 2 major roads, the road on the north runs towards Paseo del Prado while the road to the west goes towards Calle de Alcalá. Since Plaza de Cibeles is square in shape, on each of the four corners of this plaza, you can find a historic building such as the Palacio de Buenavista which was constructed in the year 1777 that currently serves as the Spanish Army headquarters and the Palacio de Linares which is owned by the organization Casa de América. This building was built in 1877, and there are plenty of things to do in Plaza de Cibeles However, the most prominent of all the buildings located at the Plaza de Cibeles is the Cybele Palace which resembles a cathedral. It was built by Antonio Palacios in 1909 and served as the postal service headquarters until 2007 when it became the City Hall of the capital.

more

7. San Francisco el Grande Basilica - Madrid

San Francisco el Grande Basilica

San Francisco El Grande Basilica is also known as the Royal Basílica de San Francisco El Grande. This is a breathtaking Roman-Catholic Church located in the heart of Spain’s capital city. The Basilica is designed beautifully in Neo-classical style designed by Antonio Plo. For designing this architectural masterpiece, Antonio Plo took inspiration from a design created by Francisco Cabezas. The building’s main façade faces the gorgeous San Francisco Plaza. The top of the building features a massive dome that measures about 108 feet in diameter and roughly 190 feet in height, bigger than the Saint Paul’s Cathedral located in London. The shape of the dome of this building is surprisingly more circular as compared to the domes that were normally built during the eighteenth century. The San Francisco El Grande Basilica cathedral contains the finest collections of famous/legendary artists including masterpieces of legends like Francisco Goya, Alonso Cano, and Zurbarán. It also features sculptures from Mariano Benlliure and Ricardo Bellver. It is a beautiful place to visit. The buildings showcase flawless artistry and architectural brilliance that continue to awe-inspire whoever visits this place. You’ll truly enjoy your visit to San Francisco El Grande Basilica, especially if you love history and appreciate art, which is why it is one of the most recommended places to visit.

more

8. Almudena Cathedral - Madrid

Almudena Cathedral

Almudena Cathedral is a historic gem dating back to the year 1883. The thought of building this cathedral was conceived in the year 1561 when King Felipe II declared Madrid as the new capital of Spain instead of Toledo. The King wanted a beautiful and magnificent cathedral for Spain’s new capital which led to the creation of Almudena Cathedral. However, the idea was realized in the year 1883 when the construction work to build this cathedral started at full throttle. The project construction was supposed to start earlier, soon after the idea was finalized. However, due to political unrest and turbulence, the construction work was postponed. Originally, the site where this cathedral stands today was occupied by the city’s first mosque. The architectural work of this spectacular cathedral reflects the Neo Gothic style. It is 104 meters long and approximately 76 meters wide. The Almudena Cathedral is nestled adjacent to the gorgeous Royal Palace. The cathedral features bright interior and intricately designed architecture that leaves people amazed. The entrance to this cathedral is free. The Almudena Cathedral also boasts a museum that exhibits great work reflecting the history of the cathedral and the archdiocese of the capital, Madrid. The museum is open for tourists from Monday to Saturday but closed on Sundays.

more

9. Temple of Debod - Madrid

Temple of Debod

The Temple of Debod is an ancient Egyptian sanctuary that was taken apart and reassembled in Madrid, Spain in 1968. The temple was originally built during the early 2nd century BC and located about 15 km south of Aswan in Egypt. It underwent renovations during the reign of Potelmic and Roman emperors. UNESCO had made an international appeal to save rich cultural heritage of Egypt due to the threat posed by the Aswan High Dam. Spain provided gracious financial and technical help for the restoration of the Abu Simbel temple in Egypt. As gratitude for the assistance, the Egyptian government donated the temple to Spain. The temple was reassembled at the Parque del Oeste located near the Royal Palace in Madrid. The temple represents one of the very few displays of ancient Egyptian architecture that can be seen outside Egypt, and one of a kind in Spain. Entry to the temple is free. It contains two levels and the guard allows only a small group to enter the temple at one time. Inside the temple visitors can see depiction of Egyptian deities and religious ceremonies. There are also models that depict the location where the original temple was in Egypt.

more

10. Museo Nacional Del Prado - Madrid

Museo Nacional Del Prado

Nestled in the heart of Madrid, Museo Nacional Del Prado is one of the greatest museums not only in Spain but around the world. Built in 1785 by Juan de Villanueva, this museum features some of the finest European art collections from around the world, dating back from the twelfth century to the early nineteenth century. Though initially, it was founded as a museum to showcase sculpture and paintings, it now consists of various other types of valuable woks such as prints and drawings. In fact, currently, the museum houses approximately 7,600 artworks from legendary artists, over 1000 sculptures, nearly 8,200 drawings and 4,800 prints and a large number of historic documents. Here, you can view amazing works from legends like Francisco de Goya, Titian, Hieronymus Bosch, El Greco and Diego. Museo Nacional Del Prado is the most visited museum in Spain attracting tourists from all over the world. Due to the large influx of tourists visiting this museum annually, the authority responsible for maintaining the museum continues to invest in the expansion of this building. By 2007, the museum’s exhibition-area was increased by 50 percent. The extensions of the building were designed by Rafael Moneo, a famous Spanish architect.

more

Similar destinations to visit

Things to do in Bilbao

Things to do in Bilbao

Known as the beating heart of the Basque Country, Bilbao is the most ‘cosmopolitan’ out of all its fellow cities. It is constantly evolving and now boasts the famous Guggenheim Museum that was designed by architect Frank Gehry along with a magnificent metro system that takes locals and visitors around ...

Things to do in Barcelona

Things to do in Barcelona

Located with the Mediterranean Sea at one end and the Serra de Collserola mountain ranges on the other and situated between the mouths of the rivers Besos and Llobregat stands the city of Barcelona. It is the capital of the autonomous community of Catalonia in Spain.

Things to do in Seville

Things to do in Seville

The only river port in the whole of Spain, Seville is the largest city and the capital of the autonomous community of Andalusia. Located on the cusp of the river Guadalquivir, the city dates back from the time when the Romans ruled the region. The old town area of the city has an immense three world ...

Things to do in Malaga

Things to do in Malaga

Take a journey to one of the oldest cities in the world in Valencia, Spain and be mesmerized by Malaga’s old school charm. From displays dedicated to crystals and classic cars to the works of Pablo Picasso (who was born there) the city is a haven for art lovers from across the globe. Stroll amidst banana ...